## **BY-LAW NO. 15-02**

## -of-

## THE RURAL MUNICIPALITY OF SPRINGFIELD

Being a By-Law of the Rural Municipality of Springfield for the purposes of establishing a Police Board

WHEREAS Section 26(1) of *The Police Services Act, C.C.S.M., Cap. P94.5*, provides as follows:

26(1) Every municipality that operates a police service must establish and maintain a police board in accordance with this Division."

AND WHEREAS Section 30(1) of The Police Services Act provides in part as follows:

30 (1) The Council of a municipality must establish the size of its police board by by-law. The police board must

b) consist of at least five members, in the case of a municipality with a population over 5,000

NOW THEREFORE THE RURAL MUNICIPALITY OF SPRINGFIELD, in Council assembled, enacts as a by-law as follows:

- 1. A Police Board for the Rural Municipality of Springfield is hereby established.
- 2. The Board shall consist of five (5) members.
- 3. The members shall be appointed as follows:
  - a. One (1) member of Council appointed by resolution of council;
  - b. Three (3) residents appointed by resolution of council, who are neither members of council nor employees of the Rural Municipality of Springfield; and
  - c. One (1) member appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.
- 4. Council shall appoint the chair and vice-chair of the police board by resolution of council.
- 5. Remuneration to members of the police board who are not members of council or employees of the municipality shall be set by resolution of council.
- 6. That By-law 12-23 is hereby repealed.

DONE AND PASSED in Council at The Rural Municipality of Springfield at Oakbank, in the Province of Manitoba this 21<sup>st</sup> day of April, A.D. 2015.

R & Bodmanik

Reeve **Bob Bodnaruk** 

Chief Administrative Officer Jim Fenske

READ a first time this READ a second time this READ a third time this

 $7^{\text{th}}$ day of April, A.D. 2015. 21<sup>st</sup>

- day of April, A.D. 2015.
- day of April, A.D. 2015. 21<sup>st</sup>