Main content of the website

Mayor & Council

  • font size:A
  • A
  • A

Springfield, Mayor and Council

Back Row (Left to Right): Councillor Howard Bredin, Councillor Glen Fuhl, Councillor Peter Williams
Front Row (Left to Right): Councillor Valerie Ralke, Mayor Tiffany Fell

Welcome to the Municipality of Springfield, Manitoba. We are a community of 15,000 and expanding. Our unrivalled combination of beautiful vistas, small-town charm, attractive tax structures and proximity to Winnipeg have positioned Springfield as the fastest growing municipality in the Capital Region. Springfield is a diverse and multifaceted community, offering residents and visitors alike the wide-open spaces in Cooks Creek and Hazelridge, the small-town hospitality of Anola and Dugald, and Oakbank’s urban atmosphere.

Visitors to Springfield can enjoy unparalleled beauty in a superb natural setting. Outdoor activities include miles of snowmobile and horse trails, a world-class provincial park, summer festivals, museums, and much more.

Residents take pride in our schools, churches, recreation facilities and bustling community life. Local Government Council and staff are committed to excellence in service, ongoing community development and timely, effective responses to your concerns and questions.

Springfield is the perfect place for your family and business. We are proud of what we have built and where we live.

Springfield Council Contact information 

Mayor –Tiffany Fell
Phone: 204-793-4349

Councillor, Ward 1 – Glen Fuhl

Phone: 204-232-4631

Councillor, Ward 2 – Howard Bredin
Phone: 204-583-2935

Councillor, Ward 3 – Vacant

Councillor, Ward 4 – Valerie Ralke
Phone: 204-583-3548

Councillor, Ward 5  - Peter Williams
Phone: 204-583-2860

Council Meetings
Council meetings are held within Council Chambers, 100 Springfield Centre Drive. Generally, Council meets every 1st (6:30 p.m.), 3rd (1:00 p.m.) and 4th (6:30 p.m.) Tuesday of the month. The 4th Tuesday of the month is generally reserved for planning matters. If you would like to attend a meeting as a delegation you are required to register with the administration office. Delegations will be arranged at the discretion of the municipality.

Council Delegations
Delegates will be required to submit presentation material to the administration office the Friday prior to the meeting date for inclusion in Council’s agenda packages.

Scheduled delegations are limited to 15 minutes.

Public Hearing Procedures
During a public hearing, you will be required to sign in before speaking and are limited to 5 minutes. The Chair may decline to hear further presentations, questions or objections if satisfied that the matter has been addressed at the public hearing.

Persons in the council chambers are not permitted to display signs or placards or applaud participants in debate or engage in conversation or other behaviours which may disrupt council proceedings.

Audio/videotaping of meetings is not permitted without prior consent from the Chief Administrative Officer at least 72 hours prior to the meeting or public hearing.
Individuals wishing to initiate a petition are urged to obtain a copy of the relevant sections of The Municipal Act.  The Municipal Act is available online at: The Municipal Act
It should be noted that Council may be petitioned for any matter.  However, where a formal petition is required under the Act, that petition must meet the sufficiency requirements of the Act.
A petition should include the following:
  • the printed surname and given name or initials of the petitioner
  • the petitioner's signature
  • the date on which the petitioner signed the petition, which must be within 90 days of the petition being filed
  • the address of the petitioner's residence
  • if the petition is to form a municipality or a local urban district, a statement that the petitioner is an eligible elector of the proposed municipality or locality
  • if the petition is to dissolve a municipality, a statement that the petitioner is an elector of the municipality
  • if the petition is to initiate or object to a local improvement or special service, the address of the property in respect of which the petitioner is liable to pay the tax
  • the signature of an adult witness opposite the signature of the petitioner and where required, a statutory declaration of the witness