Main content of the website

Public Works

  • font size:A
  • A
  • A

Public Works Department

The Public Works Department is located at Unit 2 – 27 055 Oakwood Road. To contact our office call 204-444-2241, our fax number is 204-444-2389. 

Regular Hours of Operation: Monday to Thursday - 7:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Friday - 7:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Please note that the office is closed daily between 12:00 and 12:30 PM. 

The Public Works Department is responsible to provide quality, efficient services that meet and support the infrastructure demands of the Rural Municipality of Springfield, and enhance the quality of life for our residents, businesses and visitors through the construction, operation and maintenance of a safe and effective environment. To ensure responsible policies, plans, standards and operations related to the roads infrastructure, fleet equipment, building maintenance and materiel management services are in place.

Some of our main responsibilities include: bridges, grass cutting, shoulder maintenance, ditching, gravel resurfacing, dust control, gravel production, catch basins & culverts, streetlights, sidewalks, regulatory and street signage, civic addressing, littering, street sweeping, snow removal, sanding, hard top surface patching and garbage clean up. It also tracks departmental inventories of raw materials and equipment.

The R.M. of Springfield Public Works Department employs 19 permanent staff and 11 seasonal staff as well as a summer student program that includes 4 students for the summer months. The Municipality of Springfield maintains 922 km of total roadway. We operate from two public works yards, one located in the town of Oakbank, with the other yard located in the town of Anola.


The following are some general statistics about the R.M. of Springfield (all values are approximate):

Area of R.M.620 km2 (385 mi2)
Paved Roads45 km (28 mi)
Gravel Roads716 km (445 mi)
Dirt Roads161 km (100 mi)
Total922 km (573 mi)

Gravel Pits 10

Average Annual Gravel Program 22936 m3 (50000 yd3)

Public Works Management team:

Blaine Moffat – Public Works Director (

Chris Kellner– Assistant Manager of Operations (

Terry DeSousa - Works Coordinator (